Home‎ > ‎


"MathsPlus" is an Intercollegiate Mathematics Quiz Competition for 'Rajeev P. Nambiar Memorial Ever Rolling Trophy and Cash Awards', in memory of (the late) Rajeev.P.Nambiar, who was an old student of Farook College, instituted by Girija Nambiar(his wife) and Sneha Nmabiar (his daughter). The quiz competition is being organized by the post graduate department of Mathematics in association with Farook College Old Students Association (FOSA). The competition is open to Mathematics Main students (UG & PG) of the colleges and departments in the jurisdiction of the University of Calicut. The quiz covers topics in Mathematics at under-graduate level, problems with a touch of recreation and facts related to the history of the discipline.

Late Rajeev.P.Nmabiar was born in Vatakara to V.K.K.Nambiar and Sarojini Amma. In 1979 he got enrolled himself at Farook  College for the B.Sc. Mathematics Main course and came out with a creditable first class in 1982.  As a student, he was on the top in curricular and co-curricular events. He was excellent at badminton, debate and quiz competition. He took M.B.M. from Bajaj. He began his career with J.K.Reymonds as product officer and then worked for Malhothras in Mumbai. Later on his association with Indukar Chemi AG, he led his own export division and left for Hong Kong on the same line. In 1995 he died at the age of 34. He is survived by his wife Girija Nambiar and the only daughter Sneha Nambiar.

Academic Year 2010-11

"MathPlus" the intercollegiate Mathematics Quiz Competition 2010-11 for  Rajeev P. Nambiar Memorial Rolling Trophy and Cash Awards was conducted on 13th October 2010 at Farook College. Nine teams participated in the Programme. A screening test was conducted and five teams were shortlisted for the final round.  Dr. Sunil Mathew, Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics, National Institute of technology, Kozhikode was the Quiz Master.

Farook College stood first in the competition and bagged the Ever Rolling Trophy and a cash award of Rs. 2000/-.   Department of Mathematics, University of Calicut and Sree Narayana Guru College, Chelannur won the second and third positions respectively  in the competition.

Ms. Shafna. M. (I Sem. B.Sc. Mathematics) and Ms. Rajina. T. V. (I Sem. M.Sc. Mathematics) were the team members of Farook College.   Ms. Jismy. M.J and Ms. Sandhya. V represented  the Department of Mathematics, University of Calicut  and  Ms. Arya. P.S and Ms. Mitha. M. K for  Sree Narayana Guru College, Chelannur in the competition.

Nine colleges participated in the competition.  Other colleges fielded their teams are Providence College, Calicut, Govt. Arts & Science College,  Calciut, T.M.Govt. College, Tirur, Malabar Christain College, Calciut C.K.G. Memorial Govt. College, Perambra and Majlis Arts and Science College, Puramannnur.   

Prof. E. P. Imbichikoya, Head, Department of Commerce and Secretary of FOSA awarded the Trophy and Cash Awards and Prof. T. Kunheedu, Head, Department of Mathematics awarded Certificates to the winners.


Academic Year 2008-09

"MathsPlus" Mathematics Quiz Competition 2008-09

"MathsPlus" Mathematics Quiz Competition 2008-09 was held at Farook College on 19, November 2009. Govt. Arts & Science College, Calicut stood first in the competition and bagged the Ever Rolling Trophy and a cash award of Rs. 2000/- . Malabar Christian College, Calicut and Govt. T.M. G. College, Tirur won the second and third positions respectively in the competition. Thirteen teams from eleven colleges participated in the competition. Other colleges fielded their teams are Providence College, Calicut, Farook College, St. Joseph Devagiri College, calicut, W.M.O. college, Muttil, P.S.M.O. College, Tirurangadi, S.N. College, Chelennur, Zamorin Guruvayoorappan College, Calicut and N.A.M.M. College, Manassery. Dr. T. Reji, Department of Mathematics, Govt. College, Chittoor was the quiz master for the competition.